10 Things You Should Know About Me

by Sara King

1. Has been a professional pedestrian for 21 years.
I do not have a driver’s license. Yeah, I know, I’m 21 years old and do not have a car and if I did wouldn’t be able to drive it. I took driver’s ed in high-school and have driven a car before but never went all the way and got a license.
I didn’t need one where I lived in Chicago. Oak Park (where I grew up) had two different El train stops in it (Blue & Green Line). I lived a block from my high-school, three blocks from downtown Oak Park where I worked and had friends/boyfriends to drive me anywhere else my mother denied me a ride. I could take the train into the city and be there in less time and didn’t have to worry about parking.

2. Loves the way a camera shutter sounds.
I’m a photography student and have been playing with cameras for eight years now, since my first year of high-school. Im a dork and have always loved the way a shutter sounds when being pressed. Something about that sound drew me in to press it over and over and learn as much as I could about what happens when I do press it. So, basically I continued to press it and now eight years later am in my senior year of college and hope to make a living pressing it for as long as I live.

3. Can I get a holla for Chi-town?
HOLLA! Gotta rep Chicago baby!

4. Has an obsession with shoes, dresses and basically anything fashion.
And so do many other girls my age. But, my obsession is unique. Okay, not really its just a really really big obsession. I have accumulated so many shoes, dresses, skirts, pants, shorts, tops, boots, scarfs, necklaces, earrings, rings, bags and headbands. Now, I’m not some snotty rich girl who has the same closet in Clueless, the one that electronically rotates and is ginormous. This one. I tend to not pay attention to my monthly income and end up going a little hungry. But its for the sake of my gorgeous new baby blue rain boots! So, in the end its worth it.

5. Despises leggings worn as pants & jeggings
I’m not talking about wearing leggings under a dress, tunic, or skirt. (And this only means the leggings that go all the way to the ankle that are then covered by boots, not those leggings that hit at the knee and worn with flip flops. EW.) Leggings are not pants. When girls wear leggings with a tee shirt/ top its drives me crazy. I really don’t want to see allllll that. And it has nothing to do with weight, you can be 200 lbs or 85, leggings will never be a good substitute as pants. This also includes jeggings. These are leggings with designs on them to make them look like pants. They have fake seems, pockets and belt loops. Like these. Just put the jeggings down and walk away while wearing your leggings under your cute black sweater dress and fab new knee high leather boots.

6. Will become a crazy cat lady later in life.
I will blame this on my mother. I was promised a cat once we moved into a place that allowed us to have pets. Instead, we moved into a place that allowed Italian step-dads. In the end it worked out so much better than a tiny kitten would have, but I’ve still always and will always want a kitten to greet me when I come home from a long day and annoyingly follow me around meowing for hours. Ah, bliss. So, when I become an old lady, to make up for lost time, I will have probably about 6 cats. When you come to visit me and my 6 cats, remember to send a thank you letter to my mother.

7. Would die to be a Britney Spears backup dancer.
This is a combination of my many years of dance and my many years of being a die hard Britney Spears fan. I was there from the beginning with Oops I Did It Again all the way to Its Britney Bitch. I’d love to become her bff and be the first friend she called to drive her to the hair salon so she can buzz of all her hair. (Except that wouldn’t work out that well considering I can’t drive. Damn. Making a note of that for reasons to get a driver license.) Anyways, I’d love to be on stage pelvic thrusting with the princess of pop and moving my body to the fabulous way she sings, err, I mean lip-syncs at her performances. Come on, who wouldn’t?!

8. Will never ever not have an iPhone.
I love my iPhone. Everyone that has one knows what I’m talking about and for those of you who don’t, well I just feel bad for you. I’ll let you play with mine. Maybe.

9. Is slowly becoming her amazing mother.
I had to add amazing, because I know my mother will read this. Hi mom! Love you!

10. Confessions, moments and ramblings.
I will share my confessions, ramble on about things and show you moments. Moments being the photos I take when I press that delicious sounding shutter.